Progress Report: 6 weeks and 23 pounds

September 4, 2006

Well these last six weeks have been a bit of a blur.  Time flies when your losing weight!  My trainer, James ‘El Diablo’ Louthan is great, he works me out hard but makes sure not to kill me..just yet.  We’ll also end up talking about stuff and that makes the workouts go by all the faster. 

So here’s my typical workouts:

With the trainer (Mon/Wed/Fri)

  • 5 minutes warmup, get the blood flowing
  • 30 minutes strength training
    • The idea here is to maintain the body’s lean muscle mass while losing weight, if you don’t maintain it, typically during weight loss 40-60% of your weight loss will be lean muscle mass, which spells all kinds of trouble (more on that later)
    • To maintain muscle mass, the strength training is pretty easy going, only 1 set and 20 reps for most exercises.  He’ll up the weight if he thinks I’m doing 20 reps too easily and so far its worked out well.  For folks who are used to thinking 4-6 reps, trust me on your 20th rep you are just as exhausted, but the focus is to retain lean muscle mass
    • We do about 5 machines, alternating days with lower and upper body
  • Floor Exercises
    • Find a wall, put your back against it and squat down so that your thighs are parallel with the floor… hold for 45 seconds, x2
    • Do standing pushups against the wall, 20 x 2
    • Crunches (when I first started I did about 12, now I do about 40 x 2)
  • Cardio
    • This is the bulk of the session, 30 – 45 minutes
    • Various machines, treadmill, Ellipticals etc.  Idea is to get heart rate up and keep it up for the entire duration
    • Use the programs the machines have built in to add variable resistance

Without trainer (Thur/Weekend)

  • Cardio
    • Pretty much same as above, except cardio only.  30-45 minutes
  • Home Excercises
    • For fun, I’ll do crunches and wall pushups at home before bed
3 Responses to “Progress Report: 6 weeks and 23 pounds”


  1. Hey Ahmad,

    Came across your site and thought you’d like to know I’m doing the same thing. I’m a bit further along, but I’ve been trying to keep weekly posts as well. Keep up the good work!

    – Dan

  2. Gary Wood Says:

    Hey man i do alot of excercises myself which do include your methods. One thing that i would recommend to you though is that if you have the room in your place to get a punching bag. It builds strength and balance with kicking excercises. Also nothing relieves more stress then taking a round out on your punching bad after a bad day at work. Trust me i know.

    Woody

  3. talanh Says:

    Just curious.. are you incorporating a diet as well. I need to loose about 25lbs in 6 weeks (visiting an old friend for xmas.. if you catch my drift..). If you have any other pointers for me, it would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Talan


Leave a Reply

